Dissolving life’s worries

be confident

What a year it’s been so far! Didn’t think I would blog again but it’s time to record my journey. It’s been a tough ride both personally and health wise and I have faced many challenges and hurdles in the last 6 months, more than I could have ever imagined possible. To all my family and friends that have picked me up each time, either knowingly or not, I can’t thank you enough. Without you things might have been very different. One thing I have learnt is that I am stronger than I give myself credit for and am getting stronger by the day! Swimming, particularly open water, has provided the release that I needed. I’m not sure why being in the sea washes away daily stresses. It could be that it is essential thinking time without interruption or it is the natural high that you get or perhaps these and a mixture of many other things. That feeling that with every stroke a little more of life’s worries dissolves away makes it a little addictive for me. The challenge of the swim and coping with either the cold or the conditions makes it even more worthwhile.

Today’s swim reminded me of all this. It was the roughest sea swim I’ve done in a while but also one of the most enjoyable. I was relaxed and even starting to breathe bilaterally, which is a first for me in open water but something I have been getting better at in the pool. Perhaps the effort is starting to pay off? I was intending it to be a short swim especially when the biting wind got me as I got out of the car but once out and passed the breakers the cold didn’t even cross my mind. This is why I do this 🙂

So, onwards and upwards! I have many challenging swims to look forward to and work for over the next few months. The first of these events is just 7 weeks away. The biggest challenges booked are Champion of Champions (5 miles, 3 miles, 1 mile), a few 10k swims, Loch Ness relay and 2 way Windermere…..

Hopefully I’ll update as I go……but as always, I’ll just keep swimming 🙂

Saltburn

Life’s too short, just do whatever it is that makes you happy!

4 thoughts on “Dissolving life’s worries

  1. You go girl… behind you, beside you, never in front unless to protect you, but always always there for you…. hugs x

Leave a Reply

